Books

About my debut, My Daddy Is a Cowboy, out with Abrams June 11, 2024:

A young girl and her father share an early morning horseback ride around their city in My Daddy Is a Cowboy, a picture book celebration of “just-us time,” perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motorcycle.

Tall. High as the clouds.
Strong as a horse’s back.
Like a cowboy.

In the early hours before dawn, a young girl and her father greet their horses and ride together through the waking city streets. As they trot along, Daddy tells cowboy stories filled with fun and community, friendship, discovery, and pride. Seeing her city from a new vantage point and feeling seen in a new way, the child discovers that she too is a cowboy—strong and confident in who she is.

Thoughtfully and lyrically written by debut author Stephanie Seales, with vibrant illustrations from award-winning artist C. G. Esperanza, this beautiful picture book is a celebration of Black joy, outdoor play, and quality time spent between child and parent.

What People Are Saying about  

My Daddy Is a Cowboy

"A absolutely gorgeous story of a girl and her dad's early morning ride through their city. Inspired by the the real-life Compton Cowboys, Seales has imagined a ride with one such cowboy and his daughter, as told from her perspective. The story is so lovely, with the girl's wonder and awe during the ride shared so keenly, from the sounds of the birds to the brightening sky, and the familiarity of her town from a new perspective. Esperanza's illustrations, which never fail to stun, are incredibly vibrant and full of motion. I loved everything about this story, and particularly the references to Panamanian culture which reflect the author's background. A wonderful father-daughter story, for horse lovers of any age, and just a visual treat for all readers."

-Tildy Lutts, Belmont Books, Store Manager/Kids Book Buyer/Gift Buyer